Atheist Scale, Which Are You?

It is important to look at and discover where you are at in this scale. You may find yourself learning from the experience. I rank myself a 6. I used to think of myself as a 7 but after thinking about it I realized it is almost as bad as being ranked a 1. If you aren’t open to discovery you might miss something great.

-Adam

1. Strong theist. 100 per cent probability of God. In the words of C.G. Jung: “I do not believe, I know.”

2. De facto theist. Very high probability but short of 100 per cent. “I don’t know for certain, but I strongly believe in God and live my life on the assumption that he is there.”

3. Leaning towards theism. Higher than 50 per cent but not very high. “I am very uncertain, but I am inclined to believe in God.”

4. Completely impartial. Exactly 50 per cent. “God’s existence and non-existence are exactly equiprobable.”

5. Leaning towards atheism. Lower than 50 per cent but not very low. “I do not know whether God exists but I’m inclined to be skeptical.”

6. De facto atheist. Very low probability, but short of zero. “I don’t know for certain but I think God is very improbable, and I live my life on the assumption that he is not there.”

7. Strong atheist. “I know there is no God, with the same conviction as Jung knows there is one.”

The scale is from Richard Dawkins

Leave a Reply

